Newsletter Sign-Up

Stay up-to-date with the latest news from Steerforth Press

Search the Site


Steerforth Press

Since 1994, Steerforth Press has sought to publish books that are written well, intended to engage the full attention of the reader, and have something new or important to say. Our active backlist features timeless works of fiction and poetry, but our current program focuses exclusively on works of narrative nonfiction.

Steerforth also provides distribution services to London-based Pushkin Press, Brooklyn-based Archipelago Books, and New Delhi-based Campfire Graphic Novels. In 2024 Pushkin Press acquired Steerforth Press, expanding the capabilities of both publishers and allowing for closer collaboration in the publication and distribution of their lists.

Founding publishers:  Michael Moore (1941 – 2014), Thomas Powers, Alan Lelchuk, and Chip Fleischer.

Senior Editor: Chip Fleischer.

Library, Educational, and Special Markets: Helga Schmidt.

Trade Sales and Marketing / International: David Goldberg.

Publishing Operations Director: Devin Wilkie.

See our video content here.

You can find us on NetGalley and Edelweiss